A Prayer, of Sorts

I woke up with jet lag and the news that a ruling is due within the next nine or ten hours on the constitutionality of California’s Proposition 8. I was shocked when it passed. It seemed so patently unlike the California I know to become the first US State to write discrimination into its constitution.

The Yes on 8 side has issued statements saying that they expected to lose this appeal. I’m not sure whether they are basing those statements on the fact that they put up one of the shoddiest defences in history, or whether they know deep down that they are bigots trying to enact an LDS-backed Americanised version of Sharia Law.

I’ll be watching eagerly to see what Judge Walker has to say. I hope that when this case is appealed to the US Supreme Court the enemies of equality do an equally piss-poor job of arguing for segregation and second-class citizenship for some Americans. I hope they look just as silly making absurd claims such as “although children of gays and lesbians would benefit from their parents being married, we should stop them all the same.”

More importantly, I hope California is granted a reprieve from segregation and hate enshrined in law. I hope to see pictures of smiling, happy couples walking down the steps of city halls in that state after being declared partners in life, and I hope to see that the hearts of people who refuse to look at them as human beings will be softened.

I don’t believe some white-bearded schizophrenic bloke called Elohim is sitting in the clouds any more listening to my happy thoughts, but these words are still a prayer of sorts. I haven’t gotten cynical enough to doubt the power of enough people banding together in a worthy cause. So that’s my prayer. Come on, universe. Let’s pull this one through for this generation’s civil rights cause.

My ordinary comment policy is not to censor at all. But just for today, any bigot expressing a bullshit opinion against marriage equality will be deleted, simply because you deserve to know what it feels like to be disregarded.

7 thoughts on “A Prayer, of Sorts

  1. I predict weeping, wailing, gnashing teeth, and an appeal — no matter who wins. But I expect a ruling against PropH8. The notion that government treating all its citizens fairly makes baby Jeebus cry isn’t a strong argument to make in civil court…but it’s the best they could do.

  2. I have a solution for both GLTB, as well as religious nuts. I think we should do away with all “marriages” recognized by law, and allow only civil-unions. Then all the heterosexual couples can only have a civil-union like the GLTB. Then have “marriages” performed by religions. That way the mormons can be married in thier mormon church (and get a certificate of mormon marriage), and GLTB can get married in whatever religion they want to that is willing to marry them. There is too much involvement between government and religions when it comes to marriage, so thats why I propose doing away with marriage recognized by law.

  3. @Arthur, very well put.

    @Zack, that’s exactly the solution we need. Government has no business being involved with marriage. All it needs to do is keep track of civil contracts for legal, financial, property, and child custody purposes.

    @Koda, thanks. šŸ™‚

  4. What defense? As far as I can, their only defense was “Becasue we say so.” I know that some of the folks who backed Prop 8 are pretty arrogant, but that’s just incredible that an actual attorney would go into arguments with no defense other than that, thinking it would actually fly.

    It will be interesting if they try that tactic at the Appellate level.

    • Well when they went before the district court, the burden of proving the amendment to CA constitution was unconstitutional was on the opponents of prop 8. The attorney that was probably hired by the mormons can’t bring up any defenses, because his side one, now that its going to the appellate level, the sides will switch and the mormon attorney will have to defend why the 14th amendment to the constitution doesn’t apply, because marriage is not a ‘fundamental right’ under it. It will be interesting to see who wins, because I don’t think marriage is a ‘fundamental right’ that the government needs to protect. So on a legal level, I have to agree with the mormons. On a personal level, I don’t think government should be involved at all in marriage, and I feel whatever two people want to do, is up to them.

Leave a Reply

